Skip to Main Content

Keynote Speakers

Raymond A. Lee Lecture

ParaisoThursday, October 5 | 2:00 pm - 2:30 pm

The Raymond A. Lee Endowment is a named lectureship created by AUGS to honor one person annually who contributed to the development and surgical advancement of urogynecology and to further advance the knowledge and teaching of gynecologic surgery through ongoing AUGS educational programs.

Life-long Learning, Loving What You Do, and Paying it Forward 
Presented by Marie Fidela Rustia Paraiso, MD

This lectureship will detail Dr. Paraiso's twenty-year journey from striving for work-life balance to achieving personal and professional satisfaction.  She will discuss the importance of teamwork, mentorship, self-assessment and reflection, and lifelong learning.

J. Marion Sims Lecture

Wall-LewisFriday, October 6 | 10:30 am - 11:00 am

The J. Marion Sims Lecture is presented annually at PFD Week to continue to educate today’s gynecological surgeon about the importance of supporting and encouraging innovation within women’s health.

Generous support for the J. Marion Sims Lecture is provided by ABOG.

Vesico-Vaginal Fistula: Historical Understanding, Medical Ethics, and Modern Sensibilities 
Presented by L. Lewis Wall, MD, DPhil

The lecture will address the contributions to fistula surgery made by Dr. Sims in the 19th Century and the controversies that have arisen concerning his operations in the last several decades.   

L. Lewis Wall received his medical degree from the University of Kansas School of Medicine and completed his residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at Duke University Medical Center. Dr. Wall did sub-specialty fellowship training in female urology and urodynamics at the University of London (St. George’s Hospital) and St. Mary’s Hospital for Women and Children in Manchester, England. He is board-certified in both general obstetrics and gynecology and in the sub-specialty of female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery. In addition to his clinical qualifications, he has a master’s degree in bioethics from the Center for Human Bioethics at Monash University in Australia. Dr. Wall has a longstanding interest in the health problems of women in Africa. He founded the Worldwide Fistula Fund in 1995, a not-for-profit public charity dedicated to providing care for women who have developed obstetric fistulas from prolonged obstructed labor.

Read our interview with Dr. Wall.